OHV SAFETY TIPS

Tip #1

Utah State Parks rangers encourage each off-highway vehicle (OHV) to have a pre-plan in place before
heading out for a ride. Let a responsible person know where you are going, when you plan to return, a
written description of the OHV and license plate number of your tow vehicle. This information helps search
and rescue crews in the event of an emergency.

Tip #2

Keep your distance when operating your OHV while traveling in a line or group. Be sure to keep at least a
two-second interval between you and the OHV ahead of you. Never operate the machine at excessive
speeds that may impair your ability to stop quickly or avoid a collision with other riders or objects. If
operating at night, drive slowly enough that your headlight can illuminate the area in front of you.

Tip #3

Operating while under the influence of alcohol is against the law and carries the same penalties as driving
an automobile under the influence (DUI). If convicted, you may face jail time, large fines, cancellation or
rate hikes on your insurance, and loss of your driver's license.

Tip #4

OHVs operated or transported on public lands, roads or trails in Utah must display a current off-highway
vehicle (OHV) registration sticker and a registration card must be kept with each OHV. All in-state OHV
registrations are handled by the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles.

Some non-resident OHV operators are required to purchase a $30 nonresident OHV permit for each
machine brought into Utah. Permits are available on-line at http://stateparks.utah.gov/ohv/out-of-state-
registration or from vendors statewide. A complete list of vendors is available at

stateparks.utah.gov/ohv/vendors.html.

Tip #5

In an effort to meet the growing demand for off-highway vehicle (OHV) and snowmobile youth education
courses, Utah State Parks offers two additional online courses at stateparks.utah.gov/ohv/education. Each
course offers different teaching styles to address various learning needs. Course fees are $30 and cover
ATVs, off-highway motorcycles and side-by-side ATVs. Snowmobile courses address safety, avalanche
preparedness, and riding gear. Upon successful completion of course work, students print a temporary
certificate valid for 60 days and later receive a permanent certificate by mail. Utah law requires youth ages
eight to 15 and those without a valid driver's license to complete an approved OHV or snowmobile
education course before operating on public lands, roads, or trails. It is illegal for any child under age eight
to operate an OHV or snowmobile on public land.
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Tip #6
Stay off all muddy roads and trails, and stay out of high flow streams and river crossings. Driving and
riding on muddy roads can damage the roadways, which is costly to fix. Road and trail damage also

impacts soils, streams, plants and speed up erosion. A rule of thumb is if you leave a mark in the trail, it’s
not fit for travel.

For more information, email ohveducation@utah.gov or call 801-538-RIDE. RIDE ON Utah!



mailto:ohveducation@utah.gov

	OHV SAFETY TIPS

